hugot sa picc line

radiology-picc-line-cmplx-illus-lrg_0

Hugot lines at the end of this post  =)

The infection was far from over. High fever was on and off.

The nurses have difficulty finding my veins to extract some blood, either they collapsed or dehydrated.

The solution was to have a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC or PIC line) where treatments, such as IV medications, can be given and blood for laboratory tests can be withdrawn.

The PICC line would be more comfortable compared with the many “needle sticks” that I needed for giving medications and drawing blood. The goal was to spare my veins from these frequent “needle sticks” and the irritating effects of IV medications.

I was whisked to the Cat lab. A specially trained doctor used an ultrasound machine to find the veins in my left upper arm. It was cleaned and covered with a sterile cloth to prevent infection. They numbed the area where the PICC was placed.

The PICC was inserted into a vein just above the bend of my elbow and guided into a large vein in my chest. Then, it was held into my arm with special tape and covered with a sterile dressing.

PICC-Line
The three-way access ports of the PICC line.

 

For a few days, it was very helpful.

My nurses were more than happy in extracting my blood.

But, the on and off fever came again.

They did another investigation.

Unfortunately, the main suspect was the PICC line.

They removed it (literally hinugot) and sent a sample to the infection control department of the hospital.

Indeed, there was infection – the bacteria entered my bloodstream through the PICC line.

They explained that since I was admitted in the hospital for more than a month, I am more susceptible to bacterial infection.

I went back to manual pricking of veins. Pasakit na naman!

Below are some hugot lines from the PICC experience (just for laughs):

  • Buti pa ang PICC line diretso sa puso, ako kailan kaya ako makakahalik kahit sa nguso mo
  • Para kang PICC line na may 3-in-1 access port, pinagsabay-sabay mo kaming tatlo – taksil!
  • Umasa ako sa PICC line, madali ng kuhaan ng dugo, pero ikaw kailan ka magbabayad ng utang mo.
  • Sinalo na ng lahat ng PICC line ang responsibilidad para mabuhay, pero ikaw batugan pa rin – kilos naman dyan.
  • Buti pa ang PICC line naaasahan, ikaw kailan ka kaya mapagkakatiwalaan.

Leave a comment